Please note that only users with the Admin role have access to Document Categories. 


Company documents are organized by Company Document Types. Company document Types can be configured by users who have the Admin role from the CONFIGURATION sections of the application. To get to this section, go to Process Config > Company Documents Types and Security



Examples of Company Document Types are: "HR Policies", "Employee Benefits"...etc


When you first set up Appogee HR a number of default Company Document Types are created. These may or may not be appropriate for your organization, so you can edit, delete or add to them as required.


How to create a new Company Document Type?


To create a new Company document type, you will need to do the following:


  • Process Config> Company Document Types and Security
  • Click on Create Document Type



  • Enter the main details i.e Name and description on the Document Type Name tab
  • Define the Document Type Security



Within this section, you will be able to specify the following:

  1. Allow managers to create documents: If you enable the Managers checkbox, this will mean you are allowing managers to create new company documents under this category
  2. Define the security access for Employees and Managers for documents created under this new category.
  3. Allow managers and HR Managers to override the default security settings.


There are three different types of security access you can give to users:

  • No Access: The users has no access to the documents
  • Title Only: The users can see the company documents but cannot access them
  • Read Only: The users can access the company documents but cannot make any editable changes.


How to delete a Document Category?


To delete a Document Type, click on the Delete button as shown below:



How do I view and restore deleted document category?


To view deleted document categories, you will need to click on the checkbox labelled Show Deleted Categories, this will reveal deleted categories which are shaded in red as shown below:



If you delete a Document Type which contains Company Documents you will still see the documents listed against the deleted Document Type but you will not be able to add new documents to it.


If you wish to restore a deleted document category, then please click on the restore button as shown above.